Books about LGBT rights, Jazz Age win Anisfield-Wolf prizes

NEW YORK (AP) — Books about LGBT rights, the Jazz Age and tap dancing are among the winners of the 81st annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, given for literature that confronts racism and examines diversity.

Five honorees were announced Wednesday by the Cleveland Foundation, which presents the awards. The winners include Mary Morris’ novel “The Jazz Palace,” Rowan Ricardo Phillips’ poetry collection “Heaven” and two works of nonfiction, Lillian Faderman’s “The Gay Revolution: The Story of the Struggle” and Brian Siebert’s “What the Eye Hears: A History of Tap Dancing.” The sociologist Orlando Patterson was cited for lifetime achievement.

Previous winners include the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr., Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes and Nadine Gordimer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s