NY law enforcement agencies to receive new radar units

ALBANY, N.Y. (NEWS10) – A number of law enforcement agencies across New York will receive state-of-the-art speed enforcement equipment.

The governor’s office says more than $160,000 in state funding will be used to purchase new radar units for 107 police departments and Sheriffs’ offices across the state.

“This administration has zero tolerance for reckless driving and this funding will help law enforcement agencies across New York protect our roadways,” Governor Cuomo said. “It is vital that our police agencies have the means to replace out-of-date tools to help ensure the safety of all New Yorkers.”

When agencies bring units to be serviced, Highway Safety Technology Unit technicians will replace those deemed to be too costly or outdated to repair. So far this year, 15 agencies have received the devices:

  • Mid-Hudson Region: Police departments in Brewster, Greenburgh, Highland Falls, New Windsor, Piermont and Scarsdale
  • Capital Region: Hudson Falls Police Department
  • Central New York: Police departments in Camden, Jordan and Little Falls
  • Southern Tier: Sherburne Police Department
  • Finger Lakes: Police departments in Brighton, Canandaigua, Rochester, and Webster
  • Western New York: Lakewood-Busti Police Department and the Chautauqua County Sheriff’s Office.
  • North Country: New York State Park Police, Thousand Islands Region

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s