New area code announced for eastern Upstate NY

ALBANY, N.Y. (NEWS10) – The New York State Public Service Commission announced a new area code has been assigned for eastern Upstate New York.

The commission says the new 838 area code will provide additional phone numbers for individuals and businesses in the existing 518 region.

“We needed to create a new area code because of strong and robust demand for telecommunication services,” said Commission Chair Audrey Zibelman. “With the creation of the new 838 area code, eastern New York is well-positioned to accommodate future growth in this important sector of the economy, and it will ensure that local telephone service remains efficient.”

The use of the 838 area code will start in the 3rd Quarter of 2017.

New telephone numbers could be assigned to either the 518 or the new 838 area code. The commission says it will depend on when the 518 numbers run out in each of the 140 rate centers or geographic areas.

The geographic area with the new 838 area code is located in all or part of the following 17 counties: Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Dutchess, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saint Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren and Washington.

All existing telephone users in the region will retain their current numbers, including the 518 area code.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s