Eight honored at National Museum of Racing

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. — From trainers to jockeys, to prestigious horses to pillars of the turf, the National Museum of Racing enshrined the 2014 hall of fame inductees this morning.

Eight new members were immortalized in the sport of horse racing. Over the course of the nearly two-hour ceremony, those who were honored took the time to reflect on their journeys.

Two-time horse of the year Curlin and accomplished jockey Alex Solis headlined the newest class inducted into the hall of fame Friday.

Joining them were legendary horses Ashado and Clifford, jockey Lloyd Hughes, trainer Gary Jones and pillars of the turf E.R. Bradley and E.P Taylor.

But Curlin, who won 11 of his 16 starts and retired as North America’s all-time leading earner and Solis, who won the 1986 Preakness, stole the show this morning.

“When I left Panama thirty-something-years ago, that wasn’t my aim to be in the hall of fame. It was just to work hard and do what I love doing,” said Solis.N

“We took him on a magnificent ride for two years. It was unbelievably exciting,” said Jane Kendall, Curlin’s co-owner.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s